Corn-Fotosearch-ThinkstockPhotos.jpg Fotosearch/Thinkstock

Two Georgia growers top 500 bushels in NCGA Corn Yield Contest

Randy Dowdy had yield of 521 and Kevin Dowdy had yield of 501.

South Carolina, Iowa and Georgia each had four national winners in the National Corn Yield Contest.

Randy Dowdy, Valdosta, Georgia, placed first in the no-till/strip-till irrigated corn category with a yield of 521, while three Valdosta, Georgia, growers took the top three places in the irrigated category: Kevin Dowdy, Michelle Dowdy and Loren Seabolt. The yields were 501, 465 and 463, respectively.

John Gause, Dan Gause and Daniel Gause, all from Scranton, S.C., won, earning prizes in the non-irrigated and no-till/strip-till non-irrigated categories, with yields of 318, 346 and 345. William Thomas of Cades, S.C., placed third in the no-till/strip-till non-irrigated category with a yield of 336.

Patrick Hammes from Batavia, Iowa, and John Ruff, Monona, Iowa, placed in the non-irrigated category with yields of 320 and 313. Tim, Dan and Joe Durick, Council Bluffs, Iowa, and Robert Jensen, Neola, placed first in the no-till/strip-till non-irrigated category with a yield of 333.

The National Corn Yield Contest is in its 52nd year and is one of the most popular programs for members of the National Corn Growers Association. In 2016, 7,972 contest entries were received.

“The contest provides farmers more than just an opportunity for friendly competition; it generates data that impacts future production practices across the industry,” said Brent Hostetler, chair of NCGA’s Stewardship Action Team. “The techniques first developed by contest winners grow into far-reaching advances, helping farmers across the country excel in a variety of situations. Our contest emphasizes innovation both from growers and technology providers, thus enabling us to meet the growing demand for food, feed, fuel and fiber.”

The 18 winners in six production categories had verified yields averaging more than 375 bushels per acre, compared to the projected national average of 175.3 bushels per acre in 2016. A record five national entries surpassed the 400-plus bushel per acre mark. While there is no overall contest winner, yields from first, second and third place farmers over all production categories topped out at 521.3968.

Winners receive national recognition in publications such as the NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies. In New Orleans, during the 2017 Commodity Classic, winners will be honored during the NCGA Awards Banquet and the NCYC State Winners Breakfast.

Visit National Corn Growers Association website for the complete list of national and state winners.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.